Preserving The Sanctity of Marriage

Gay marriage started to become legal when I was still deep within the walls of religion.  Though I knew the belief held by those in my group, I secretly cheered on each state that passed it into law.  I never saw how it affected the sanctity of marriage, as it had no bearing on my own.  But over and over I heard the rhetoric of what it does to America.  In my heart, but not with my words, I called bullshit.

During the final stages of my divorce is when I began to truly become outraged and heartbroken that the LGBT community were being treated so unfairly with being denied the right.  My heart broke knowing that marriage for gay and lesbian couples was still an unattainable goal.  It broke my heart because I knew my “sin” was worse than theirs.  Jesus spoke so many times against divorce.  Not so much for homosexuality.  Yet here I was, with the freedom to leave my spouse.  Here I was with the freedom to marry again (to a man) if I chose.  And here I was, able to do that a hundred times over and yet it was not even possible for gays to do it once.  It was not fair!  It was not just!  So as SCOTUS made its ruling this past week, I rejoiced as an open ally to a community I have for years hid my support of.

Though I cannot know fully the struggle of that community, I experience it in part by being divorced.  The same group that denounces them, denounces me – but oh so passive aggressively in comparison.  I can’t count the amount of times I have seen a “clever” meme float down on my FaceBook feed about how people don’t fall out of love because love is a choice.  Or how love never gives up.  Or how though marriage is hard, you always fight for it.  It is a very passive way to tell those that ended a marriage that they weren’t strong enough.  That they didn’t fight enough.  That they gave up.  I can tell you that the people that would say that have only experienced bad times in a good marriage.  They have never experienced bad times in a bad marriage.  Those two things are a world of difference.  Bad times in a bad marriage are like being in a prison underground.  You find hiding places in your own mind to escape because the mantra of “love never gives up” invades every hole in your soul.  Even good times in a bad marriage cannot even compare to bad times in a good marriage.  The good times are like a festering wound that is always on the verge of healing yet continues to ooze the puss of infection.  The memes about gay marriage, however, are much more overt and hatefilled.  Though they don’t directly relate to me, they make my heart sick.  I can only imagine what it feels like for those it is directed at.

But the good news is, the sanctity of marriage was not destroyed when gay marriage was legalized.  Nor was it destroyed when I divorced.  The sanctity of marriage was held as more sacred.  Both of those things give an open door to more love in this world.  Because I was able to divorce, I am legally free to marry again.  One day I want to do just that.  It is because I hold marriage to be so sacred, I will sanctify it when I remarry.  The marriage I was in was toxic at its core.  Even at its best, it was a cancer to everyone involved.  Because I hold marriage and love so highly, I cannot accept what I had as marriage.  For the sake of its sanctity, it had to end.  Gay marriage, on the other hand, is just another celebration that love exists.  Sure there will be many bad relationships that end in divorce involving homosexuals, BUT there will be that many more good ones.

Since being divorced, I have introspectively looked at what I believe marriage truly is beyond the legal benefits.  The only ways I can define it is this….  It is the strong love between two people who choose to commit their lives to one another.  It is giving and taking and sometimes not at the same time.  It is communication in its own language that creates understanding and peace.  It is forgiving and asking for forgiveness.  It is caring for one another in the darkest times.  It is an attraction that goes beyond youth and beauty but deep into the soul.  It is knowing even the worst days together are better than the best apart.  It is honesty.  It is commitment.  It is a shared goal of life.  It’s unity in difference.  It’s compromise.  It’s inspiring one another to be a better version of themselves.  It knows no gender, no race, no past mistakes.  It only knows love.

From the Other Side of the Cage,

Jae

About cagedbirdnomore

After being part of the Charismatic/Pentecostal Movement for about 10 years, my marriage, world, and self worth began to implode. I left the church and my marriage in the fall of 2013. As I begin to reclaim pieces of the girl I kept hidden, I am writing about my journey as a way to heal and bring healing to those who may come across this blog. You are more than welcome to comment, however I refuse to debate. Please be respectful of other commenters and myself. If you disagree with what i have to say, I respect your opinion so please only share in a constructive manner. I do not tolerate trolls and I will not respond or allow your comments if you happen to live under a bridge and try to cause trouble. From time to time there will be cursing, trigger warnings, and vivid descriptions. If this offends you, please don't read. All names besides mine have been changed, however all stories are my perception of the events that took place. I attempt to tell every story with as much accuracy as possible. However, as the saying goes, "There are 3 sides to every story. Yours, mine, and the truth."

Leave a comment